For A More Gospel-Centered Sermon

Posted: November 15, 2012 in Preaching
Tags: , ,

 

 

   “Not many of you should become teachers, my brothers, for you know that we who teach will be judged with greater strictness.”

(James 3:1, ESV)  

This morning I read a very helpful article by Trevin Wax,  managing Editor of The Gospel Project at LifeWay Christian Resources.  In it he addresses three very helpful questions that every pastor should ask of his sermon as he prepares.

Here are the three questions:

1. How does this topic/passage fit into the big story of Scripture?

2. What is distinctively Christian about the way I am addressing the topic/passage?

3. How does this truth equip God’s church to live on mission?

I don’t know about you but every time I stand before God’s people I desire that God will use what I am saying to glorify Himself, Minister to those in need, and make much of His Son, Jesus Christ.

Let me encourage you to read the whole article at the link below:

3 Questions to Ask of Your Sermon

Leave a Reply

